The Jake Files

May 10, 2006

Where is the Amazing Jake?

Filed under: Family,Fatherhood,General,Job Loss,Self-employment,Unemployment,Work — Amazing Jake @ 8:56 am

I've gotten several emails recently asking where I've been, what I've been doing, why I haven't been posting, etc.

The simple answer is, I haven't had much time lately, and I've been focusing on more important things.  I haven't even reading a lot of blogs lately, much less posting on my own.

As regular readers know, the Amazing Jake has been searching high and low for a new career since being uncerimoniously informed that his prior position was redundant.  So, job searching has taken up a lot of my time lately, as well as due diligence on several small business ownership opportunities.  It's looking more and more likely that I will be buying an existing small business sometime in the near future, and getting out of the corporate rat race.

Secondly, I've been spending a lot of quality time with the kids since I've been off work.  The six-year old is now riding her 2-wheeler proficiently, and her reading skills have exploded in the last few weeks.  I've been volunteering in her class, and having a great time doing it.  And do you have any idea how much homework they give kids in kindergarten these days?  KINDERGARTEN!

Thirdly, the fact that there are some other local bloggers out there now makes it easier to let up a little bit and still know that people are being informed about what's happening in our city.  I blog for my own enjoyment first, as an outlet for my own musings and frustrations.  The fact that other people like what I have to say is gratifying, but it isn't really why I do it.  That being said, when you have a regular readership seeking information about City politics, it does become something of a responsibility to keep going, which, in times like I've had recently, can be, not a burden per se, but a self-imposed obligation that can get in the way of other priorities.  I've been tending to those other priorities lately, and I'm glad to have local co-bloggers available like Geo that can keep the debate going when I need to step back and take a breath.

So, I've shaken the cobwebs a bit, made some significant decisions about the direction of my future career (unless the absolute perfect corporate job drops out of the sky into my lap, I'm pursuing owning my own business), and am ready to re-engage. 

2 Comments »

  1. You’ve been focusing on things more important that your public? Good for you! Good luck on your business endeavors. Will you talk about your business in a cagey way or not at all?
    Your (different) voice is missed already.

    Comment by AM — May 10, 2006 @ 10:03 am | Reply

  2. I’m actually making an offer on a business late this afternoon. Not sure yet if I’ll come out of the shadows and publicize it, assuming I do close on it of course. Since it’s an established business in Chandler, I may want to become a member of the Chamber of Commerce, and that may present awkward problems given my outspokenness on Becky Jackson. We’ll have to see. But I do intend to keep posting, so don’t miss me too much yet.

    Comment by Amazing Jake — May 10, 2006 @ 11:13 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

