The Jake Files

April 5, 2006

Turning a Corner

Filed under: Economy & Business,Family,General,Job Loss,Self-employment,Unemployment,Work — Amazing Jake @ 10:04 am

So I got a job offer at my 2nd interview last night.  The position starts on Monday and has a very high level of commission, but the base is almost nonexistent for the first 9 weeks, then becomes actually nonexistent.  I'm OK with that, because I'm very confident in my sales skills (as well as my bo staff skills, and nunchuck skills), but the real problem is the schedule. 

As I put the mini-Jakes to bed last night, telling them stories and hearing about their days at school, it really hit home that I couldn't take this job.  I would only be home at night every other week, and would have to work Mon-Sat every week.  Driving the kids to school each day and seeing them on Sunday isn't what I had in mind for a job, so I think I'm going to have to pass.

The Amazing Mrs. Jake and I had a long talk last night, and we're getting more and more comfortable with starting a business, and not being accountable to someone else.  So, I will be looking aggressively into self-employment options, and continuing to look for "regular" jobs in my areas of expertise.  Wish me luck.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

