The Jake Files

April 4, 2006

Today’s Interviews

Filed under: Economy & Business,Job Loss,Unemployment,Work — Amazing Jake @ 12:44 pm

I finished a phone interview a little while ago for a regional sales position in a former industry a have a lot of experience in (in an operations capacity).  I felt a little like the recruiter had 5-8 candidates to screen to propose 2-3 candidates to the hiring manager, and that I was one of the candidates not being seriously considered at all.  It was that kind of interview – no deep delving into my experience, no serious questions about sales but focus on operations experience. 

My meeting late this afternoon is a second interview.  I know I've already got the attention of the hiring manager, so this should be a little more comfortable of a meeting.  My only concerns about this position are the hours (I won't be home for dinner, but I will be there to get the mini-Jakes off to school) and the lack of a base salary (almost all commission – although potentially very lucrative, still scary).  I'm VERY confident in my ability to excel in this position, so we'll see what happens.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

