The Jake Files

March 23, 2006

I Am Not a Victim

Filed under: Conservative,Economy & Business,Job Loss,Unemployment,Work — Amazing Jake @ 10:44 pm

So you may have noticed the lack of blogging lately.  First, I wanted to take a few days off after the election, which I did.  Second, part of that time off was spent in Pinetop, where it snowed after the major drought we had in Arizona that made all the news.  We took the mini-Jakes to play in the snow, and it was great.  If there was ever an omen that we we should have signed on to the Kyoto Protocols, 13 inches of snow in Pinetop AZ and snow on the Superstition Mountains visible from Phoenix is all the evidence we need.

Third, my job was eliminated and I was laid off on Monday.  Hence, the lack of blogging due to a laser beam focus on finding a new job.

While I didn’t exactly see this coming, it wasn’t really a shock either.  The Amazing Jake has been through job eliminations before (several, given my mid-level manager status in call center/office environments).  I’m surprisingly calm this time around, even though I’m getting only 2 weeks severance.

It’s times like these that separate the men from the boys and the victims from the, er, non-victims.  I AM NOT A VICTIM.

Since Monday at 9am, when I was informed of my redundancy, I’ve secured 3 1/2 interviews.  The half was a phone screen I received today gauging my level of interest in a part-time independent contract sales position.  I’ll be attending the real interview next week some time.  I’ve already had one full phone interview (Tuesday – already scheduled prior to my layoff.  Did I have a psychic foreshadowing of my imminent career demise?  Nah, I’ve been working this job lead for 6 months, and it only just came to fruition.  Probable 2nd interview next week).  I’ve got 2 more interviews scheduled for tomorrow.

What would a victim have done in this circumstance?  There likely would have been a lot of wailing and rending of garments, and calls for greater job protections.  Oh wait, that’s just what’s going on in France.

Wish me luck mein freunds.  Victims form unions and get welfare.  Non-victims get ahead.

2 Comments »

  1. […] As regular readers know, the Amazing Jake has been searching high and low for a new career since being uncerimoniously informed that his prior position was redundant.  So, job searching has taken up a lot of my time lately, as well as due diligence on several small business ownership opportunities.  It's looking more and more likely that I will be buying an existing small business sometime in the near future, and getting out of the corporate rat race. […]

    Pingback by The Jake Files » Where is the Amazing Jake? — May 16, 2006 @ 10:14 pm | Reply

  2. Generally I don’t learn post on blogs, however I wish to say that this write-up very forced me to try and do so! Your writing style has been amazed me. Thank you, quite great post.

    Comment by Lavonda — January 21, 2013 @ 8:48 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

