The Jake Files

January 6, 2006

The Book of Daniel

Filed under: Entertainment,Television — Amazing Jake @ 9:52 pm

So, I noticed all the controversy about the new NBC series, The Book of Daniel

Citing viewer complaints, eight NBC affiliate stations won’t air a new series by the network about an Episcopalian priest with a troubled family in which Jesus Christ is one of the characters.

And, having nothing urgent recorded on the DVR to watch until tonight’s premiere of Battlestar Galactica (see earlier post), I decided to see what all the fuss is about.

So far, 25 minutes in, the following has occured:

  • The epynomous Daniel gave a homily in which he suggested that it’s not all that bad to give in to temptation.  His bishop was none too pleased.
  • I missed the first few minutes where his daughter was apparently caught selling pot.
  • Daniel’s family openly mocks each other about various issues, such as the afore mentioned pot bust, and one son mocking the other for being gay.
  • The mother seems awfully quick to self-medicate with alcohol during the family squabble at the dinner table.
  • Jesus showed up in Daniel’s car on the way to his golf outing.

As an aside, it seems that the Episcopal church pays their priests pretty well, based on the house that Daniel lives in.

So, I’m thinking to myself, I’m a junior NBC exec.  I’ve been charged with finding a show that will appeal to those foreign red-staters.  You know, the ones that go to church all the time, and have family values, whatever those are.  And I get this script that has Jesus in it!  Remember that Joan of Arcadia show at CBS that got so much attention from the Jesus freaks?  This will be so much better, because instead of having God show up randomly in different bodies each week, this show will have Jesus in it!  Those James Dobson/Pat Robertson/Jerry Falwell losers will lap this up!

But… there’s got to be something to appeal to the real people too.  So, let’s see… there’s got to be a conflicted gay character, and a character with an alcohol problem, and lots of casual sexual relationships.

Somehow I think that junior exec is going to be polishing his resume soon…

Wait a minute – it’s 8:45pm and Jesus just showed up again:

Daniel: Why is it so easy to talk to you?

Jesus: Because I’m a good listener and I never burden you with my problems.

Daniel: Tell me what to do…

Jesus: Life is hard, Daniel, for everyone, that’s why there’s such a nice reward at the end.

Daniel: Aren’t you supposed to comfort me?

Jesus: Where did you read that, in “Jesus’ Guide to a Good Life?”

Fade into silly banter and laughing all around.

Ugh.  I don’t think I can continue.  I do have those 2 episodes of Arrested Development on the DVR I haven’t watched yet, so if you want more info on the Book of Daniel, you’ll have to find it elsewhere.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

